13 Common Mistakes Most Parents Make When Feeding Picky Eaters

Adam Meyer
5 min readMar 27, 2023
Photo Credit: Lourdes Balduque from Getty Images

If I had a nickel for every time I had to poke and prod my kids to “take a bite” or “finish a meal,” I’d have… a shitload of nickels.

Feeding your kids nutritious whole foods can be challenging. As a nutritionist and parent, I care deeply about nourishing my kids with healthy plant-based foods to help them grow, develop, and feel their best. But, like most kids their age (8 and 6), all they ever want is cereal and cookies.

I’ve tried everything over the years, from coercion tactics (no screens if you don’t finish your dinner!) to bribes (five more bites then you can have dessert!) to giving up and serving mac n’ vegan cheese for dinner. But now, I realize these are all colossal mistakes on my part. Mistakes that can lead to my kids developing unhealthy eating habits as they get older.

The key is to help them cultivate a healthy relationship with food that will last a lifetime.

And how can you do that? By avoiding these common mistakes (that I’ve made a thousand times).

1. You only offer foods they like.

If it were up to my son, he’d eat peanut butter sandwiches exclusively.

Avoid feeding them only foods they like because it’s less hassle.

--

--

Adam Meyer

I ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Nutrition & Fitness Influencers • Certified Nutritionist • 500+ articles published in the Health & Wellness space