Photo by Anna Pezler on Unsplash.

6 Selfish Reasons to Eat Plant-Based: by a Nutritionist.

Adam Meyer
5 min readApr 22, 2021

--

I’ve been 100% plant-based for four years. Zero meat, zero dairy, zero animal products.

I was one of the last people you’d expect to adopt a plant-based diet. I was the guy making fun of people who didn’t eat meat.

So why the change?

It wasn’t for animal welfare. It wasn’t to “save the planet”. It wasn’t to feel superior and condemn the actions of others.

It was out of selfish curiousity.

I think this is where most people start but don’t want to admit to themselves.

I removed animal products from my diet to experience firsthand the highly acclaimed health benefits. To try and be the “best possible version of myself”.

As a rational, logical person though, I had some reservations.

I feared losing the strength and muscle I had worked hard to achieve in the gym. I was concerned about becoming deficient in key nutrients required for optimizing athletic performance and overall health.

Where was I going to get my protein?!

But I had to know for myself.

So at the dawn of 2017, with a brand new baby boy and 2-year-old daughter, my wife and I made the leap to a 100% whole food plant-based (WFPB) diet.

--

--

Adam Meyer

I ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Nutrition & Fitness Influencers • Certified Nutritionist • 500+ articles published in the Health & Wellness space