How to Build a Plant-Based Grocery List for an Active Lifestyle

Adam Meyer
4 min readMar 29, 2023
Photo by Chantal Garnier on Unsplash

As someone who’s been vegan for several years and loves to work out, I know firsthand how important it is to fuel your body with the right foods.

But let’s be real, it can be overwhelming to figure out what to buy at the grocery store. That’s why I’ve put together this guide on how to build a plant-based grocery list to help fuel your active lifestyle.

Start with the basics: Fruits and vegetables

I know, I know. This seems obvious, but hear me out. Fruits and vegetables are packed with essential nutrients that will fuel your workouts and help you recover faster. Plus, they’re delicious! Some of my personal favorites include bananas, kale, berries, mango, broccoli, and sweet potatoes.

Get your protein fix from tofu and legumes

As a plant-based nutritionist and fitness enthusiast, I get asked a lot about where I get my protein. The answer? Legumes and tofu! Lentils, chickpeas, black beans, and tempeh are all great sources of protein that will help you build muscle and feel full for longer.

Add some healthy fats with nuts and seeds

--

--

Adam Meyer

I ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Nutrition & Fitness Influencers • Certified Nutritionist • 500+ articles published in the Health & Wellness space