Plant-Based Nutrition for Endurance Athletes: Tips and Tricks

Adam Meyer
5 min readApr 3, 2023

Endurance athletes require a lot of energy and nutrients to maintain their performance.

When I ran my first marathon in 2017, I had no clue how to fuel my body correctly. I figured drinking some water beforehand and having a few gel packs in my pocket to consume throughout the race would do the trick. Boy, was I wrong. My energy levels tanked around the 8-mile mark, causing me to hobble across the finish line in just over four hours — a disappointing result after setting the goal of finishing in less than 3.5.

Fortunately, that first marathon taught me valuable lessons on adequately fueling and hydrating for endurance activities. I now understand the importance of electrolytes, proper hydration, carbohydrate intake, and how to fuel and refuel before and after long runs.

Regardless of the endurance activity, having a basic understanding of these principles can make all the difference in your performance and recovery.

If you’re an endurance athlete looking to take your performance and health to the next level, you may have considered adopting a plant-based diet. Plant-based nutrition has gained popularity in recent years for its many health benefits, including increased energy, faster recovery, and reduced risk of chronic diseases.

--

--

Adam Meyer

I ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Nutrition & Fitness Influencers • Certified Nutritionist • 500+ articles published in the Health & Wellness space